Economic Science Association Ethical Guidelines


Background: The proposition for ESA Ethical Guidelines was first drafted by the 2020 ESA ad-hoc committee for ethics that comprises David Cooper, Laura Gee, Ben Greiner, Andrej Svorenčík, and Marie Claire Villeval. It has been improved by the comments and suggestions made by the members of the Executive Committee in May 2021 and discussed during the ESA Global Virtual meetings in July 2021. It was then revised by the 2021 committee, consisting of Catherine Eckel, Ben Greiner, Laura Gee, and Andrej Svorenčík. It was approved by the Executive Board in July 2022.

These Guidelines are partly inspired by the Codes of Conduct of other associations (including AEA, EEA, AFA, AREUEA), which were consulted during development.

Last updated October 21, 2022